Sensing Being

chris-pool

Photo by Chris H. Lynn.


At the first time I saw that, I got closer and I felt confused. It was a kind of art to appreciate or an invitation to enter? That was made of modulations, light effects, colours between tones of blue and green. Must be something to experiment, I thought. So I went ahead and I got into.

I felt immediately a subtle texture and some resistance to my movements. Something that reminded me what was forgotten. I’m not able to understand what could be that, but there was something familiar. And I have continued to experiment.

All changed how much more I moved around. With my arms and my hands, I perceived that I could move myself to anywhere. In a slow down and I felt that with my legs I could quietly take the feet of the support and stay in suspension.

Vertically.. Laterally… and horizontally I decided to stay. Then, with eyes closed, I continued to move around and gradually, I felt comfortable to change all that. Every drawing I did with my body, changing every moment, each setting before formulated. Feeling myself more and more involved in that environment. Until I moved down. But immediately I returned. Before I needed to have air in the lungs!

Thus, a deep breath, I sank and looked around. All very different from what I had seen outside. I looked forward, sideways, backward. And that seemed all blurry! I couldn’t understand what did everything change again. But I was still there, exhaling slowly, investigating that place. Moving me everywhere. Until I saw myself doing an apnea promenade! I thought one more time: That should be an interactive art installation.

About Ana Villas Boas

I’m an urban sociologist and runner based in São Paulo, Brasil, focused on studies about body movement, landscapes, sounds, silence and senses. My current work has been on cultural heritage and preservation studies and I’m also yoga teacher, certified by Kundalini Research Institute.
This entry was posted in Moving Text and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

