In Slow Motion


Moment by moment, step by step, I can experience the world fully. I can experience the world in its various manifestations. Time and space are also perceived in a particular way. This is a way I found to my senses and I try to highlight the effects that running gives me as being potential human living with the various forms of life and ways of living life consciously.

I believe it is possible to experience the fullness through other ways. The body displacement is an illustration of what can happen in our own mind. The biomechanics of running, for example, favors the body displacement in line with what is natural for humans. This is the approach on which I focus to describe what I’ve experimented physically and mentally through the running.

On the other hand, this film is an interesting way to review my perception about the time, space and senses. The monk is not exactly a passerby like people around him, nor stands in anywhere. It’s like a gap between ‘go ahead’ and ‘stand still’. To me, this performance is a demonstration of what is the life in fullness. The deceleration is necessary to feel what exists within himself and around. The movement is constant. And each moment is really a present moment. A conscious moment. A conscious presence in the world.

This is an admirable film which is worth watching.

About Ana Villas Boas

I’m an urban sociologist and runner based in São Paulo, Brasil, focused on studies about body movement, landscapes, sounds, silence and senses. My current work has been on cultural heritage and preservation studies and I’m also yoga teacher, certified by Kundalini Research Institute.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

